Expert Riders Please Help! A Good Starter Bike? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-26-2002, 07:36 PM Thread Starter

Expert Riders Please Help! A Good Starter Bike?

I am 17, and will be buying a bike this summer when I turn 18. Any suggestions on a used bike that has a reasonable price range for me with ample power that would keep me entertained for a couple years yet offers some nice features to a new rider. I have some experience riding and I am looking forward to getting into sport bikes. Suggestions please.

Thanks

Added note: I am open minded about the manufacturer and bike. I would, although, like something bigger than 500cc so I can keep up with everyone else. I have considered these manufacturers so far in this order, Honda, Yamaha, and Suzuki.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-26-2002, 08:17 PM

yeah I was your age when I destroyed my first bike!

Honestly any of the 600's would suit you fine, IMO stay away from the r6's, some here may disagree with me but I dont thing they are a good beginner.

If I were you, I'd just go and get about a '96/'97/'98 kitana, One because they are low priced, and two because they dont have too much power, but enough to satisfy you. Or if you want something that's a real eye catcher, go hunt down a 94-96 suzuki rf600r.

Good luck, and welcome to SBW!
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-26-2002, 09:35 PM Thread Starter

Why stay away from r6's?

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-27-2002, 09:06 AM

Its just my opinion, but I've ridden a few different r6's. They all ride the same, they are a lot less forgiving that the other 600's, the bike is twitchy I guess you could say. It's not a smooth ride like the other 600's which is what you really need in a first bike so you can learn the basics and learn to ride... not just control a wild bike.
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-27-2002, 11:50 AM