Introduction: New Rider - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-07-2016, 01:14 PM Thread Starter

Introduction: New Rider

Greetings All,

I am new to the biking world( from a riding perspective, I have helped my father repair his and his friends' Harley, Yamaha, and Gold wing motorcycles for about 10 years). I am currently shopping around for a bike and gear. Below I will outline my plan and gear I have chosen( not yet purchased) through research.

Getting legal: my plan is to get a license through a new riders program. There is a good local program several new riders I know have gone to. It is 5 days I believe, all written tests have a high score to pass requirement and there is plenty of track time. My state gives very high praise to their program and most local insurance companies will give discounted rates to those with a graduation certificate. They offer motorcycles for track time. You can choose between a 250 cruiser, 250 sport bike, and 125 scooters. I will choose the sport bike as that is what I intend to buy. You can also borrow riding gear, but I intend to buy my own even before I go to the class. Graduates can show their certificate to the motor vehicle department for a license without further testing. Price is $275 and I consider that money well spent.

Motorcycles: I have never been on anything larger than a camp/miniature bike(as a kid). Buying a well used 250( ninja or Hyosung) would probably be best, but I have heard suggestions for a GS500 or similar for larger riders. I am 6' 1" stocky( most normal cut pants are too small for my calves and a xl shirt fits in the chest but is tight on my forearms) with a few extra pounds at 260. I have also seen dual sport bikes that look very cool. There are a few good deals on XR650's and DR650's in my area.