Bandit v SV650S?? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-31-2004, 11:04 AM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to bikerchik Send a message via Yahoo to bikerchik
Bandit v SV650S??

I'm just in my second year of riding and want a better bike. Knowing that an upgrade in the next few years is possible, does anyone have any thoughts on these two bikes? MAJOR CATCH to my question - I will be taking a trip from Ohio to California roundtrip and need something comfy. Suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-31-2004, 11:10 AM

Re: Bandit v SV650S??

Quote:
Originally posted by bikerchik
I'm just in my second year of riding and want a better bike. Knowing that an upgrade in the next few years is possible, does anyone have any thoughts on these two bikes? MAJOR CATCH to my question - I will be taking a trip from Ohio to California roundtrip and need something comfy. Suggestions?
Comfort is a very personal thing.... I can't stand most Honda's, they're too uncomfortable for me, however Suzukis fit me just fine I've owned SVs and they're great bikes that can be easily upgraded if you get bored. They make great racers too Just go sit on both and figure out which one is best for you

"Road racing makes heroin addiction look like a vague wish for something salty." - Peter Eagan
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-31-2004, 11:17 AM

SV 650S vs Bandit

I am assuming that you are comparing the SV to a Bandit 600?

Both make equal amounts of horsepower, the SV having more low-end and midrange power vs the Bandit which makes it's peak power at higher rpm. For long rides on the highway, I find 4-cylinder bikes to be smoother than the thumping of a V-twin, so I would prefer the Bandit for that kind of use. (although depending on the bike, 4-cylinder motorcycles can be buzzy at certain rpm).