Want to get into Supermotard racing! - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-06-2003, 08:41 AM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to slaintedan
Question Want to get into Supermotard racing!

A few friends of mine have recently gotten into Supermotard racing and I'm considering doing it as well. I'm completely new to the sport and have several questions...

1. I've got a race-prepped CR125 that I'd like to race. Is this too small?

2. What modifications will I need to do to the bike in order to prep it for Supermoto? (it's currently set up for ArenaCross)

3. How much will it cost to convert a dirt bike to a Supermoto bike?

4. Am I crazy for wanting to try Supermotard racing?

Thanks!

Me for Emperor of America!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-06-2003, 02:41 PM

YOu can run with your stock tires in the sportmans class but thats no fun.
So, you need to safety wire your bike if required, but a good idea, run a catch can for the crank case vent and carb. then get 17" wheels which run around $1000 and tires, either rains or cut slicks $300-400
Thats about it
SM racing is cool as hell, you slide coming into corner, slide coming out and everywhere else and takin jumps on slicks is always an eye opening experience.

ccs #282
SM-USA #88
99 R6
00 426 supermoto
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-10-2003, 06:36 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally posted by Ducman
YOu can run with your stock tires in the sportmans class but thats no fun.
So, you need to safety wire your bike if required, but a good idea, run a catch can for the crank case vent and carb. then get 17" wheels which run around $1000 and tires, either rains or cut slicks $300-400
Thats about it