New to Central FL - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-21-2002, 10:12 PM Thread Starter

New to Central FL

Hey, I'm new at this but here goes nothing.
Just looking for a few bits of advice. First of all, I'm new down here and I'm hoping to find out some rules about acquiring a motorcycle license. I found out down here in FL that one place you get a license and another place you get plates. I got some info on a training class at Brevard Comm College in Melbourne. Could anyone tell me about this? Is this required for a license? I've never owned a bike but I have wanted one for quite sometime. The problem I had was in NY where I was, we could only ride it maybe two months out of the year cause the weather sucked! Now down here, I have no more excuses! I'm also hoping to meet some riders down here who can help me get started. I appreciate anyone who can help me out or offer any advice. Thanks! "J"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-22-2002, 08:41 AM

hopefully soem helpful info

You should take the MSF course for sure. After you pass that all you need to do is take the written test and you have a motorcycle license<sic?>. To get your tags you have to goto the tax collecter's office. I don't know where they are located in Brevard county, but they have like 5 or 6 in orange county.
Remember you don't want a 1000cc bike for your first one either.
you wil learn more on a smaller bike like a EX500 or SV650 which in their own right are fast bike.

Then after that you wil most likely turn to the darkside and want to get on the track. <eveil laugh>
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-22-2002, 06:06 PM Thread Starter