Sportbike World banner

New Rider

3K views 23 replies 9 participants last post by  mike_drz 
#1 ·
I just bought a 05 gixxer 600, it is my first time ever to ride i do not yet have my license but i want to ride to work with it to get the hang of it. Should i be worried of a ticket?

#2 ·
Why wouldn't you just go and write the written test that takes a few minutes (I assume you guys have that)...and reduce your ticket to just "riding without insurance" -> it should save you a few hundred bucks. Or better yet, call an insurance company and get the paper work tommorrow right after your done your written test. And you should be able to ride legaly after a few hours and after your rode everywhere to get it done legaly. :)

#4 ·
May I be so bold to ask if you have taken the MSF Course? If not & this is so new to you then good chance you will be writing off your bike & self & a costly expense & hopefully the bike is only totalled & you are not.

Believe me riding a m/c is SO different to driving a car especially with the bomb you have bought. We look upon most hot trotting 600 sportbikes as 2nd step from a season on a benners bike, if you learn fast, or possibly the third step.

These bikes were NOT made for causual riding around the town & on the various roads but more in line with some of the top club road racing as then are the next thing to actual road racing bikes.

#6 ·
I have ridden it for several days now taking it extremely careful. I am not a huge risk taking person i drive down back roads and avoid twaffic as much as possible i am aware of the power of this bike put it seems very managable, especially at low rpm's. Another question is 5k rpms a lot at 60,70mph?

#7 ·
It seems managable. It's not. It's lulling you into a false sense of security and at some point you'll push it and need to react with what experience would have taught you.

Then you're up a crick.