Sportbike World banner

Buell Blast Or Ninja 500R?

4K views 21 replies 9 participants last post by  spicerke 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm new to riding and the forum. I have minimal dirtbike experience, and a little ATV experience. I'm trying to decide on which 500cc bike to go with. I'm 5'10" or relatively close to it. about 200 lbs.

I've sat on a Ninja at a local dealer and liked the feel of it (not that I know what to look for, really) , but I know a guy who owns a Harley dealership that can get a good deal for me on a Buell. However, I don't really know how they compare in power, handling, or reliability.

I plan on getting one of the two, and will be taking the safety course before then.

So basically I want to hear from any current or previous Blast owners what they think about the bike...

Thanks in advance for any help :)

#2 ·
Spicers own a buell blast, and I dont think they have any warm feelings about it. I've never ridden one, but I've heard a few horror stories about their reliability.

#3 ·

Attachments

#7 ·
Just to throw another thought your way, have you checked out the SV650?

#8 ·
I have looked at the sv650's, and it sounds like a good starter bike.

However, I just really don't like the way it looks. I know that isn't the best reason to not choose a bike, but I honestly don't like the looks of it.

If I were going with a Suzuki, it would most likely be the gs500. I'm not dead set on 500cc or anything, I just don't like the sv650...

#9 ·
Looks are as good a reason as anything else. In my book they are a better reason then performance (especially when considering bikes in the same class). In fact the reason I was recommending the SV was becouse I'm not crazy about the ex500's looks. Hey man, its your money get what you want.

#11 ·
mainerdr said:
the buell does handle well and can really rip up the corners... the short wheelbase makes it feel really sticky.... not to mention wheelie quite easy...
We're talking about the blast here...

#16 ·
Cthulhu said: