HELP! FZR 1000 noise good bad or ugly? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-23-2007, 03:19 PM Thread Starter

Post HELP! FZR 1000 noise good bad or ugly?

HI EVERYONE! New to this site, have done some searching and I love it. I recently purchased an '87 FZR 1000 with 20k miles, not running but all else in very good shape for $200. Once home I verified it had oil(told it was recently changed-pretty dark), verified there was no spark issue, drained tank, replaced all fuel lines (they were vacuum hose and crimped in a spot or two), checked coolant, changed battery and gave a push of the button. A few spins later, she comes ALIVE! Upon starting I hear a sharp tapping noise. No sooner did I reach to shut it down, the noise fadded. A few conservative twists of the throttle and back to idle the noise returned but not as sharp. I've been a certified or certifiable mechanic (auto) for many years and noise resembles that of hydraulic lifters before they pump up. Being an OHC are there hydraulic tappetts in the head? Oh, after warming completly up the noise is gone. Let it sit for a few, restart, noise is there, not as sharp and then gone before you can bend and get an idea of where it is coming from. IDEAS? Also, cyl 1 or 2 carb has a slight stream of fuel coming out of a tube. Is that tube an overflow for the bowl meaning the float is stuck on the bottom of the bowl? Or something else meaning the needle is stuck closed? Thanks for any assistance!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-23-2007, 11:04 PM
Super Moderator

The Yamaha motor can sometimes develop problems with the cam chain tensioner that will cause a tick that goes away with RPM and oil pressure. You can alleviate that with a manual tensioner.

Not sure on your 1 and 2 concerns. Are you on the kickstand or stood straight up?

Good find on the bike!

Dan