value of a 88 gsxr1000 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2005, 08:36 AM Thread Starter

value of a 88 gsxr1000

Just as title reads Im new to motorcycles and dont know squat. I have the oppertunity to pick up such bike with new tires,sprocket,and chain is it worth 2500
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2005, 09:20 AM

Do you mean GSXR 1100?

I'm not stateside so can't really give any specific advice but in general the value of any bike over 10 years old is purely down to condition.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2005, 12:10 PM Thread Starter

i havent seen the bike yet but i was told that is a 1000

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-27-2005, 11:02 AM

Send a message via AIM to Xx954HxCafexX
nadaguides.com

i use it all the time
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-14-2005, 03:52 PM

Sounds like you could use some help. You can ask questions on the board and wait for a response but.....

If you are thinking of a bike, hopefully you have friends that already ride and can help you out. Especially if they have some kind of mechanic background. An older rider can give you some tips on the vintage bikes. I'll offer you some advice here though.

I have had many bikes over the years and have bought a vintage bike as recently as a year or so ago. The early gixxers were oil/air cooled and in my opinion not as trustworthy if they have high miles. I owned a 1986 750. But they can still be a good bike.

I know this is going to sound hypocritical, but when I hunt for an older bike, the two most important things are that it have low milage (between 10K and 25K if possible) and that it be close to stock. I know that the trick stuff like exhaust, etc may be nice, and I almost always add some mods to my bikes, BUT to me, the more mods on a bike, the more it may be abused. I also only look at bikes with the original body and paint.