New Project Bike....Comments? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2004, 01:51 PM Thread Starter

New Project Bike....Comments?

Hey Guys,
Newbie here. I have been back and forth about what type of beginner bike I should get. I have decided that if I am going to ride, then I should know the inner workings of a bike. So..... I have purchased a 1974 Kawasaki Z1A. The carbs need to be rebuilt, the front brakes need to be replaced. There needs to be alot of work done to this bike. I am not the best mechanic in the world but I guess I've got to start somewhere. Does anyone have any comments or hints to help me out. I have found a few websites to help me and ordered a manual online to help with the rebuild. I have also included a picture of the bike.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dscn1489.jpg (43.7 KB, 223 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2004, 02:21 PM

Carbs are easy to rebuild, just take it to somebody to equilize the carbs.(Need carb sticks) The brakes are messy but not hard. Just remember it is not a sportbike. It is not designed to take really high speed corners. I hope this isn't your first bike.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2004, 03:51 PM

That looks like my first bike a 81' Honda Twinstar CM200T. I'm giving the bike a make over. I'm striping the paint off and repainting it gloss black with purple flames, replacing the pipes that are on it with straight pipes and maybe boring out the cylinders. I decided since I got my new bike to try to make you old one look good. Good luck on the project, and hope everything goes well for you.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-09-2004, 09:07 AM