I need help removing carburetors 75 CB200T, Pics inside!! - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 06:26 AM Thread Starter

Question I need help removing carburetors 75 CB200T, Pics inside!!

I am having a fuel problem (I believe). This is my first bike (2 weeks now) so I am new to the scene. The bike is a 75 Honda CB200T which I plan to learn on until I grab a new VLX or Aero around summer. ON to the problems.....

1) The bike stutters when I get it jump started

2) Rarely will the bike start using the push button. This never happens when the motor is cold.

3) The fuel line on the right side carb drips pretty bad when the fuel switch is ON.

4) Throttle hesitates when trying to accelerate. Gets worst the more quicker the acceleration.

5) The bike didn't come with a kick start for some odd reason.

What must I do / remove to get the carburetors loose from the bike?

Is it a must to drain the gas tank? Do I have to remove the gas tank to remove the carbs?

Do the problems above sound like the carbs may be clogged or one of the needles inside bad?

Here are some random shots I took of the carbs:

RIGHT SIDE CARBURETOR:

LEFT SIDE CARBURETOR:

Thanks for any help!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 11:06 AM

The symptoms do describe gummed up carbs. It's a common problem on bikes that sit for long periods.

The method for taking the carbs off looks pretty obvious to me.
1. Release the spring clamps from the airbox boots, 2. disconnect the fuel lines from the top and bottom of each carb, if applicable, 3. unscrew the two screws (per carb) that attach the carbs to the head and they should slide out sideways. At that point you can disconnect the throttle and choke cable (if applicable) to get them all the way out.