Sportbike World banner

CKX helmets?

10K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  centerstand65 
#1 ·
Hey, I've got an opportunity to get a CKX helmet, it's used but never been dropped or in an accident, it's only been used for one season and it's 125 CAN, he claims to have bought it for 400.

has anyone heard anything on these? I'm new to riding so I'm not in with all the gear info.

Thanks.

-Jmart

#2 ·
No, I have not heard of that brand. And for the record, the oldest rider I've ever known used to make this statement regarding used lids:
Buying a used helmet is like buying used underwear.
Now, I have bought and used helmets from Ebay before and not had any issues (I've even crashed in one). The issue is that a lid used more than a couple of times isn't so great because the foam inside conforms to the owner's skull shape and since everyone's cranial structure is different, you'd be missing out on some protection.

#6 ·
No, I have not heard of that brand. And for the record, the oldest rider I've ever known used to make this statement regarding used lids:

Now, I have bought and used helmets from Ebay before and not had any issues (I've even crashed in one). The issue is that a lid used more than a couple of times isn't so great because the foam inside conforms to the owner's skull shape and since everyone's cranial structure is different, you'd be missing out on some protection.
I only buy used from eBay. I've worn some really great Arai and Icon lids. The best are well worn. When you get in another guy's lid for the first time, you will be amazed at how good it feels. Then, there's the smell. It's natural -- no glues or resins -- just sweat. Sweat is hypoallergenic. So, you never have to worry about problems that come with buying new.

#4 ·