Motovation sliders - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-30-2008, 07:10 AM Thread Starter
Strength and Honor

Motovation sliders

When I bought my bike used, it came with no-cut Shogun sliders. For those who don't understand what the difference is, a no-cut frame slider does not require modification of the bodywork. The "cut" (or standard) sliders do require some cutting of the bodywork so that the slider can be in-line with bolt that holds it to the frame of the bike. No-cuts have some kind of offset bracket. Religious battles rage as to whether the no-cut sliders will protect a bike as well as standard sliders. I've crashed my no-cut sliders on the side of the bike that didn't have the offset bracket so I have no direct experience on the fallibility of that kind of design. I am theoretically a believer, however, of the standard design, partly causing my switch.

After quite a bit of review of feedback on various sliders, Motovation appears to be a big favorite. The designers/owners proclaim to be driven entirely by the desire to provide sliders which get very special attention to the needs of sportbike riders and as riders themselves, they list that as a competitive advantage. Peoples' experience in crashing them has been really good as well.

As compared to my Shogun sliders, the Motovation ones are much beefier and have a bit more length to them. The swing arm spools are larger and make the use of my rear stand easier than with the Shoguns. Installation for three of four sliders was, as with all sliders, incredibly simple. The fourth, where I had to do some cutting, was relatively simple and I list it here for reference. Some ideas were gleaned from others' experience. Note that while I didn't use Loctite to ensure the slider bolts don't come loose, some do and it should not have a negative effect on the bolt/nut.