Glove Question - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-06-2007, 11:56 AM Thread Starter

Glove Question

I was wondering if there was a vast difference in performance between gauntlet or short cuff styles. Im new to riding and am trying to figure out what to buy. If anyone has an affordable product recommendation for me fell free to chime in.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-06-2007, 01:07 PM

Re: Glove Question

Quote:
Originally posted by DesertFox
I was wondering if there was a vast difference in performance between gauntlet or short cuff styles. Im new to riding and am trying to figure out what to buy. If anyone has an affordable product recommendation for me fell free to chime in.
Go for the gauntlet every time. It helps to prevent your wrist from contacting the ground in a fall.

If you're ever in doubt about what style of gear is safest, just look at the racing world.

In God, we trust; all others must provide data.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-06-2007, 01:29 PM

I agree with cookeetree. Look to the race world for recs on safety gear. Going with gauntlet style is the safest bet for sure. I'm in Dallas, and sometimes my hands get too hot in the full gloves, so I have a short pair with more mesh except for on the knuckles for hot days and I wear gauntlet style when i know I'll be riding hard.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-06-2007, 01:33 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by bigdogab
I agree with cookeetree. Look to the race world for recs on safety gear. Going with gauntlet style is the safest bet for sure. I'm in Dallas, and sometimes my hands get too hot in the full gloves, so I have a short pair with more mesh except for on the knuckles for hot days and I wear gauntlet style when i know I'll be riding hard.