new rider, need gear - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-29-2006, 02:20 PM Thread Starter

new rider, need gear

Well I am very new to riding(only 20 and first post on here)and i recently bought a 1996 cbr600f3. What a fun bike and very easy to learn...msf starts on september 10th. So with the clock ticking down on when i can finally ride(legally) i am looking at some gear. I think i am going to purchase the shoei RF1000 for the my lid...very comfortable and compared to the others i tried on the best fit.
this a good site?

next comes my jacket. I was only able to try on icon and joe rocket jackets at the store and know as i look online i find different ones that i like better(what a suprise). I want to stick to leather and this one cought my eyejacket . I have a red bike and i am getting a red helmet, what would all of you get the red honda jacket(or the gunmetal) or this black icon jacketicon . the other question i have is that icon comes in sizes(s/m/l/xl) and i found the mediums to fit me tightly at the store but joe rocket has sizes 40-48 how does that work?? I am up to any suggestions at all ,different jackets expecially and some reviews if anyone has had the chance to own anything that i am thinking of purchasing!!

thanks in advance
tom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-29-2006, 03:43 PM

Check out http://www.newenough.com/ for motorcycle gear. They have the best prices anywhere. They also somewhat of a conversion chart between the number sizes and measurments. I would however try on anything you can at a local store before purchasing things online. You want leather to fit tight, so that it doesnt ride up your back in teh event of an accident. You also dont want the rubber armor moving around.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-29-2006, 03:58 PM Thread Starter