Another Damn Leather v. Textile Question - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-08-2006, 04:42 PM Thread Starter

Another Damn Leather v. Textile Question

Hello.

So I've been reading you guys' posts on textile v. Leather.

It seems that it's 50/50 on this or that. The general consensus appears to be that if it's for city use, textile is okay, but racing requires leather (of course).

However, some people say textile can melt your skin from sliding, as well as making you slide FURTHER. So far the only con for leather is price and that it can be hotter during those warm summer months.

Okay, now that I've shown that I did my research here is my question:

What should I get?

I'm a beginner cyclist planning on getting a 500 bike (600 at the most). I was originally going to get a 250, but because of my size (6' 2"and 230) people have reccomended larger.

I plan to use the bike for commuting purposes in all types of weather. I don't own ANY type of vehicle so either I'd be in the rain on a 500cc bike or a 10 speed bike :P.

I would drive 10 miles to work at the least. I would also ride to San Francisco, friend's house, etc. I don't plan on racing, however it's easy to say that when I haven't even had any bike experience.

Well this thread is getting a bit long, so I'll end it here and wait for responses before I ask anything more.

Thanks!

Jason
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-08-2006, 05:24 PM

To date, I've had no problems at all with my textile gear. I've not had any get-offs, though, so I can't vouch for its handling under those conditions. I trust it to provide a certain degree of protection, but I know it will never be as good as leather.

It has stood up to all kids of weather, without anything more than the cuffs of my long-sleeve shirt getting wet. (No BS on this!) In my understanding, leather doesn't work as well.