Gear for tall rider - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-10-2006, 07:28 PM Thread Starter

Gear for tall rider

Hey I'm new to riding, and I'm looking for pants and a jacket I can wear in the summer. I ordered a JR Rasp (medium) jacket that seems to fit well in the chest and at the tightest setting is ok at the waist, but feels way to short on me. I'm 6'2" and I feel kinda silly in it. Even after hiking up my shorts to the highest level I would ever wear them at the jacket is still about a 1/2" short of the top of my belt, meaning when I'm sitting it feels like it comes halfway up my back.

So, I think I'm going to return it and look for something else. The problem is my size. I have a 40" chest and 32" waist and my dress shirts have 37" sleeves. Any suggestions for a jacket that will work in the summer? Honestly I would prefer it to not be mesh, although I might change my mind in mid August when its over 100. I'm just not sure I would feel safe in a mesh jacket.

For pants I think I'm going to go with FirstGear HT Air 2.0 Overpants since that seems to be about my only option.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-10-2006, 07:44 PM

The jacket riding up when you are crouched on your bike is pretty common from what I've found. My jacket rides up a good inch or two above my waiste line when I ride. I think this is because if they didn't ride up, when we were walking around off the bike we would have the hole loin cloth thing going on with the jacket hanging over our arses. You can shop for anouther, but I think without going with to big a jacket (which is a bad thing for an accedent) you will find the same with all of them. I dunno anything about pants though sry
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-11-2006, 07:18 PM Thread Starter