helmet help? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-16-2006, 05:30 PM Thread Starter

helmet help?

alright- so I have my heart set on buying a bike, but before I do anything I have been talking to a lot of ppl around me that know all about them. I just wanted some outside opinions on helmets.

I am prepared to get busted up-- obviously... I'm a beginner.. so how much should I spend? it seems hard to choose.. a lot and be safe for riding and learning? or less oz its gonna get busted up anyways....

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-16-2006, 05:42 PM

With buying a helmet, fit and feel is very important, so you need to go to a shop and try different ones on. You'll find some may be a lot more comfortable than others.

Things to look for:

1) A full face helmet is going to offer the most protection.
2) A helmet that is at least DOT approved. Snell is a second agency that tests helmets also.
3) Proper fit. You want to make sure the helmet is snug, and you can't really move it around when it's on your head. The pads should fit snug against your forehead and cheeks.

As far as $$, it's debatable, but a more expensive doesn't necessarily equal more protection. A lot of what you're paying for is features(like vents), weight(more expensive helmets may be lighter) and graphics.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-17-2006, 06:19 AM

+1. Slaps76 knows his $hit.

post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-17-2006, 09:18 AM