Need a little help with gear choices - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-15-2006, 08:09 PM Thread Starter

Need a little help with gear choices

I'm about to pick up an ex250. This will be the first bike i've ever owned and so I'm very new to picking out gear. I have made a few selections and I was wondering if these are good and if anyone else has any input. Any comment is welcome.

My two considerations for gear right now is protection and price.

For a helmet I'm going to go with an HJC, either the ac-12 or the cl-sp. I used to use a friends ac-11 when we would go out and ride, and at the msf course I used an ac-11, so its what i'm used to. I figure the ac-12 would be similar. Any reason I shouldn't get it and just opt for the cheaper cl-sp or 15?

As far as jackets go...Its starting to get warm here, so i was looking into textile jackets. The astars Air-Flo text jacket. It seems to be a warmer weather jacket. Only thing i dont like is that its all black and not very visable. The other one was the Astars T-Dyno text jacket. Comments?

Gloves: I am looking at the alpinestars S-MX 2 Air Carbon Gloves. They look like they offer good protection, and are pretty light weight for the summer heat.

Pants: Non of the riders I know typically ride with special pants. Thoughts? Suggestions?

Boots: again, thoughts and suggestions welcome

If anyone can offer a little coaching that would be great.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-15-2006, 08:38 PM

KingAlverez welcome to the world of motocycle gear! It's good that you intend to ride with gear and your current selections sound fine. If you know the AC-11 fits comfortably why not try to find a new one on closeout?