Metzler sportec M-3 tire - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-31-2006, 05:58 PM Thread Starter

Metzler sportec M-3 tire

I'm still learning and what not, but when I got the 600rr I needed to replace the rear tire. So instead of getting the normal dunlops 208 tires, I wanted something more, something better. I was hoping to get a pilot power as I've heard so much good things about it, but cycle gear was out. What the did have was a new Metzler sportec M-3 tire. My friend has the M-1 and gets pretty good traction. So I got it for 160 bucks (180 balanced + tax) for the 180/55/17 size.

Anyhow, when I tried to find reviews for the tire, there are none. Even Metzler's website don't have anything about the product online, its not even listed!

So I went back to the store and asked him about it, apparently, their shop magically received the M-3's that day when I needed a new tire and its so new that they haven't even done a press release about the tire. So in that case, I'd like to be the first one to say that I got the M-3 on my bike and I'm quite liking the grippiness of the tire. Sidewalls are nice, thick, and firm. Its sticky but its suppose to be dual compound and engineered to have an increase of tire life compared to the m-1.

Does anyone else heard anything about this? I've yet to take the 600rr out leaning with the new tire, but since its winter. I'd better not.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-06-2006, 05:06 PM

I've read that the M-3's aren't supposed to available until March, looks like you got one early. I wanted to wait for them, but I'm need a new tire asap. So I'm going to give those Roadtec Z-6's a try.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2006, 08:35 PM

Jbaz,
I've heard alot of good hype about the M-3 so let us know how they work out. I want it all, good grip (wet, dry, cold or hot) and long tire life. Maybe someday there will be the perfect tire!