new girl rider - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-27-2001, 06:05 PM Thread Starter

I'm new here, and I'm new to sport bikes. I joined this forum to get information, and learn as much as I can before I purchase my first bike.

I'm looking at a couple of different options. The first is the Kawasaki Ninja 250, or possibly the Aprilia RS 50, or 125. I don't know which one would be better and for what reasons. I'm looking for something light and easy to handle. I don't want to get one that I will outgrow too fast though. Thanks for your input.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-27-2001, 06:31 PM

Welcome to SBW!

You should see the performance ratings for each bike. If one has a better performance it will be worth keeping so you don't get bored in the future. Don't go too high with the performance. Those three bikes shouldn't rate outrageously high. Hope you get what you want and have fun.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-27-2001, 06:37 PM

Here in Chicago, the Motorcycle Safety Classes fill up fast so I am currently in the middle of training three people to get there license - a guy I met in a Motorcycle Online forum (22 yr old), my wife (30-something !), and my dad (62 - today !).

I would highly recommend taking an MSF class before deciding on a bike to buy. That way, you can drop someone else's bike a few times. We are using a used Ninja 500 for training and it has been dropped 5 times: guy 3, wife 0, dad 2. I got the guy and wife already riding on the street, but my dad is not there yet.

My wife is 5' 5 and weighs 150 lbs (had a baby 4 months ago - not down to her weight yet !). She likes the 500 a lot, but I can already tell that she is going to outgrow it - a light 600 (ZX6(R)) is probably her bike.

I would recommend a used Ninja 500 or Suzuki GS500. The fairing on the Ninja can be damaged quite a bit from a slight tip over.