Newbie is an understatement - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-2001, 09:38 AM Thread Starter

Talking

Hi. Just found this place and thought I would register and post.

I'm new to the bike scene again but used to not be. I used to ride a lot when I was very young but stopped when my best friend passed away in an ATV racing accident. Iím 22 now and ever since then I have longed to go back but have not seriously thought about it until now. My philosophy is life is short so I need to just do the things I want to now before I cannot. However, Iím feeling a little intimidated. It has been so long that I wonder how I could even ride anymore. So, help this newbie out. Any suggestions on bikes, tips and other useful information would be appreciated. I donít want a sport bike that will blow me away, but I donít want something that I will Ďout growí too quickly.

Thanks for the info.

-Jet
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-2001, 09:51 AM
Pete

Jet, welcome to SBW!

I can't think of a more appropriate time to recommend getting a good used dual-purpose motorcycle. Get your skills/confidence back up on the dirt over a couple months, then take it out on the pavement when you feel ready. After that, I think you'll be in a better position to make a decision about a sportbike.

P.S. to others: Don't you wish we had more young people with this kind of mentality coming into the sport?
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-05-2001, 11:44 AM

Welcome --

I am fairly new to riding, but I found that taking the Motorcycle Safety Foundation class helped my confidence out and also increased my knowledge.

I thought about getting at 600 sport bike, but I knew I would out grow it, so I jumped on a good deal on a 900. I do not think it is too powerful, just as long as you can handle not gasing it.