hi - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-23-2001, 05:05 PM Thread Starter

Cool

Hi, my name is Joe...I'm in California in the bay area...

I started reading this site last year sometime when I was thinking about getting a bike. Mixed in with all the bs I found a whole lot of valuable info.

So anyway I went and took a riding safety course, bought some leathers, and later bought a '98 F3. Thankfully my months of reading up on this site had prepared me for the inevitability of my dropping the bike, cause I dropped it about 150 miles after buying it. Yeah, yeah...laugh it up... it was in a gas station parking lot I started riding up this really steep back entrance and suddenly realized it was barricaded by a row of cars so I had to stop on the incline. There I was, gripping the brake like a madman and wondering how I was going to turn around. Very slowly and carefully was my conclusion. Well, it didn't work, and before I knew I was tipping I was on the ground. Luckily (or not so luckily) the bike had already been dropped on that side and had some very light (almost invisible) scratches, so I didn't feel bad for more than about 3 days. Oh, and I learned not to ride into unfamiliar gas stations' back entrances.

Well, since the "incident", I've put about 3000 miles on the bike and have loved every one of em. I know I'm just a newbie but I'm slowly getting experience and so far it's going great...

-joe

ps I know the handle is really gay but from the way some of you talk I figured that kind of thing fits right in
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-23-2001, 06:03 PM

Thumbs up

Hiya!!
Joe,I think most riders have had,shall we say "interesting" incidents like yours. I'd say it's all part of the learning curve.
Welcome to SBW!!!
jim
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-23-2001, 08:27 PM

Talking Welcome back!