New and want to start riding! - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 55 (permalink) Old 11-12-2008, 07:22 PM Thread Starter

New and want to start riding!

Hi! I live in the Las Vegas area.

I have no experience whatsoever with motorcycles. I am however, very much into cars and motorsports with 4wheels.

Now I want to learn motorbikes...whether it be cruisers or sportbikes. I have no idea what the different companies are, and what is considered a good bike.

I am as new as they come. I hope you all can help me get started in my purchase and learning of riding a motorcycle.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 55 (permalink) Old 11-13-2008, 03:45 AM
Strength and Honor

First, you should do some extensive reading in the New Riders forum, especially the stickie threads that are the first ones listed. After you've done that I'm sure you'll have questions so come back onto this thread and ask away; that's what we're here for.

Second, if you opt to do something that many members have repeatedly advised against, it is ok to state that but be sure to note that you recognize you're going against conventional wisdom. On the flip side, you should not ask questions about which you don't really want the answer; in other words, if you've made you mind up about something (like the first bike you'll buy) don't ask for advice. That's the quickest way to peeve us off. Outside that we're a motley crew and give each other a hard time (often noted with )

Third, I had a good friend move from our area to Las Vegas and she gave up riding because of the large numbers of people who drive drunk around there. Please be aware this risk is higher in your area and ride appropriately.

Last, welcome

SportbikeWorld Supermoderator

Dragging knee is for the track, and dragging tail is for the lot. --Kane Friesen

When you're in a car, you're watching a movie; when you're on a bike, you're in the movie. --Robert Pirsig