New here and to riding. And already layed her down - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 08:10 AM Thread Starter

New here and to riding. And already layed her down

OK a bit about myself. I work as a field service tech for a rather large company... And decided that it was about time for me to do something nice for myself... I always wanted a bike but never got one in the past cause, well I'm dumb and would kill myself. So now that I am 25 (I know there isn't a majic age that you stop being dumb...) I figured I would have enough control not to do any thing stupid. So i got a 82 suzuki gs750t it was an old bike and I know most people have dropped them so I got a cheap one....

But I was ridding it around for about a month and started to get coumfortable one it... (not a good thing) I was riding with a group of friends and went around a turn (luckly not too fast) there was a stop light at the end of the turn that I forgot was there. It turned yellow, I grabbed the brake too hard and down I go. And me in my infinite wisdome don't have very much saftey gear on... I was wearing boots, jeans, t-shirt and full face helmate.

So now I have a broken clutch lever, speedo, turn signal, and leaking engine cover. So everyone else that is just starting out take my advice get the right safety gear. it will save you a bit of pain.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-11-2008, 08:14 AM
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogre96 View Post
So now I have a broken clutch lever, speedo, turn signal, and leaking engine cover. So everyone else that is just starting out take my advice get the right safety gear. it will save you a bit of pain.

Sorry to hear about your crash, glad you made it out without too much damage to yourself or the bike.

And everyone, whether starting out or a 50-year veteran, should dress up to go down.