1 month of R1 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-2007, 07:44 PM Thread Starter

1 month of R1

Hey everybody I'm Taj.
Automotive forums are great things, good to be here. I'm a BIG car/motorcycle guy.

I'm 22 years old. I've owned a lot of bikes in the past, first riding dirt bikes at like 10 years old. All those bikes have been relatively small though, like 250cc 4-stroke or smaller.

I was a motorcycle parts manager dude for awhile, my father was importing Chinese bikes.

I have now had a 2000 R1 for one month. This bike just happened upon me and I couldn't turn it down, I'd never go out and TRY to buy one of these as first sportbike. Absolutely insane. Its sprockets have been changed for more top end, and it has an Akrapovic exhaust on it.

I've put about 1,900 miles on it so far. I haven't killed myself, incredible. I changed the oil/filter. I just wore down to the cords on the rear tire. Stock 190, I just bought a new 180 tire (Pilot Power).

I got jacket/helmet with the bike. I just bought some good boots, and some cold weather Fox gloves. November, still riding in Utah.

I had my incredibly bad motorcycle accident May 05 at the sand dunes on a friend's CR250. Can't tell you a lot for sure, I don't remember the first 3 weeks after. That accident has lasting effects, the rest of my life. I'll always ride.
Yep, great to be here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-10-2007, 07:15 AM Thread Starter

New 180 rear tire feels great.
Warm gloves to wear with everything else I had is awesome.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-13-2007, 05:49 PM Thread Starter

I rode for 30 min in the pouring rain on the freeway at 70MPH. Thats quite the experience.

If anyone has an R1 that would like to trade sprockets, I'd love the stock sprockets back on here. Sprockets I've got, you can easily top 70mph in 1st gear.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-13-2007, 06:56 PM