Newbie here - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-21-2005, 10:54 AM Thread Starter

Newbie here

Just wanted to introduce myself. I'm Tim, and I'm just getting into sportbikes. I'm buying a '05 R6 in a week or two. Any suggestions are welcome!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-21-2005, 12:29 PM
Resident Smart Ass!

Send a message via AIM to Jester Send a message via Yahoo to Jester
Welcome!

Is this your first bike?

Help control the squid population, have your squid spayed or neutered

"it's not the smart ass behavior that gets to me... it's the dumb ass behavior that is a problem..." -Quote from my Aunt.

Only motorcycle riders understand why dogs stick their head out of car windows.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-21-2005, 12:42 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally posted by Jester
Welcome!

Is this your first bike?
First sportbike, yes. I've gotten a little flack about getting the r6 as my first SB, so I know it's a serious machine. I'm also considering the Kawasaki z1000.

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-21-2005, 01:05 PM

Welcome to the site!

If you haven't ridden any motorcycles before, give some thought to which bike should be your first.
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-21-2005, 01:08 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally posted by sidewaysducati
Welcome to the site!

If you haven't ridden any motorcycles before, give some thought to which bike should be your first.
Up until this point, I've only ridden cruisers. But for a mature adult rider, is the r6 really too much to start on, or is that just for irresponsible riders who will push it too hard, too fast? I have several friends who started on an r6, and they had no problems.
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-21-2005, 01:36 PM