Supreme newbie - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-03-2004, 01:13 PM Thread Starter

Supreme newbie

i am a complete newbie and i have to say i am probably making all the newbie mistakes.
To start I have been suckered into paying about $3500 for a 99 ZX6E with 4800 miles on it. But then again it the worse time to buy a bike right now so close to summer. I have not even taken my MSF class yet and I have never been on a motorcycle not even a moped.
I hope I make it through the class in one piece and hopefully that bike is good enough to last me a while. Anyway if anyone has any tips for a super mega atomic newbie like me do not hesitate.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-03-2004, 01:34 PM
S370HSSV 0773H

Send a message via Yahoo to spicersh
I started much the same way so it can be done, but you need to be extra careful. If you can wait at all I would recommend waiting to ride your bike until after you've taken the MSF course. If this is not an option for you due to temptation then I would advise not riding on any public streets at all for a while. Take your bike to a big, empty, and open parking lot (truck it there, have a friend ride it, etc.) and practice.