Cautious Newbie - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2002, 10:57 AM Thread Starter

Cautious Newbie

Hello all. Never rode. I'm just starting out. I've grown tired of hauling the cage around for short stints to NYC.
I know I need to start slow. MSF courses, closed course practice, etc.
Got to do some footwork at the dealers....I can't decide between SV650, R6, Gixxer750, Fireblade954, a Monster, or to wait for Multistrada, or new RC211V in 2003.
I appreciate the immeasurable amount of info, support, and dedication you guys/gals have to this lifestyle.
How many of you purchased what you want to master, thus becoming one a particular machine and it's behaviors as opposed to learning basics on a lesser and droppable beat-up bike?
I'm not saying I'm trying to get a Hayabusa as a first ride but I'm curious as to the familiarization process.
What I'm trying to say is does a Stealth bomber pilot practice on a DC-10?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2002, 11:12 AM

If you have never ridden a bike before get one without plastic because you will likely drop it at some point. The SV650, while perhaps a bit powerful as a beginner bike, would be the best choice in your list. It has a very forgiving power delivery. Though it might not seem like a powerful machine compared to other bikes, it'll run the 1/4 mile quicker than almost any production car. The Monster 600 would be another decent choice but the SV is probably a better bike for less money. SVs are also a whole lot of fun to ride and you may never outgrow it.

I started on a beat up old 750 Yamaha. Too heavy for a beginner bike.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2002, 11:16 AM