I am very new - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-16-2002, 03:21 PM Thread Starter

I am very new

Hello all, my name is Shawn. I am very new to the ridding world to be honest I don't even have a ride yet. I am searching for advice on that as a matter of fact. I am thinking of getting a ZX6R. I have heard different sides of the story. Enough to confuse me terribly. Is this a good choice for a first bike. I say this honestly, money is not the factor. I just want to get a good bike, mainly one for a beginner. Please feel free to give your opinions. Thank you for the opportunity to learn from you all.

Shawn
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-17-2002, 12:16 AM

Hi Shawn,

Welcome to sportbikes. The absolute first thing you should do is take an MSF safety course.... It teaches you all of the things you need to know to get your feet off of the ground! www.msf-usa.org

Secondly, a zx-6r is a race replica bike, very fast, very powerful. It is an awesome bike, but very fast for a beginner. I bought a 92 kawasaki zx-6d as my first bike... plenty of power, a little heavy, very stable, and not as fast as the newer 600's but can still keep up! If money is no object, buy a well used 600, or a newer 500... "any fool can go fast in a straight line, it's learning to turn and stop the motorcycle where skill comes in"!!! be safe, ride smart!!!
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-03-2002, 12:31 PM

Thumbs up

Of course the ZX-6R is a great bike for a beginner. Just remember to respect the power of the 600 class. Don't believe all that you read from the "PRO" riders out there who run liter bikes. Of the 600 bikes such as the CBR600F4i, GSX-R600, the YZF-R6, and the ZX-6R, that Kawasaki is the better all around choice.