Ella - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-12-2001, 05:09 PM Thread Starter

Post Looking for a good beginner bike

Hello, I am looking into getting a sportbike. I have very little experience on bikes, but i plan on taking the safety course over the summer and another intermidiate riding course after that.
I was told to stay in the 600 for a starter bike. If i remember right, some one said that there is a suziki with not to much plastic on it to break and a more comfortable riding postion.
Is there anyone in the Baton Rouge area that can recommand a good place to buy from.
Thanks guys
I appreciate it
Later
Jacob

Last edited by Blueadder; 03-12-2001 at 08:17 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-12-2001, 06:43 PM
Founder

Garage
Jacob,

The Suzuki SV650 is probibly what you are thinking of. And yes it's a great bike to start with!

Hopefully someone in your area can point you to a good dealer, and welcome to SBW!

Robert Basil
SportbikeWorld.com Founder
PocketbikePlanet.com Founder

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-12-2001, 06:52 PM

Welcome Jacob! I agree that the SV650 is a great beginner bike. IMO, it's a bike that you won't soon get tired of or grow out of. I had the chance to ride one not long ago and it was a blast! It has excellent power delivery, handles good and is very comfortable. Good luck and keep us posted on what you get.

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-13-2001, 06:21 AM

Welcome. Baton Rouge is a fun town. You bunch of drunks.

The SV650 is not just a good beginners bike. It is a good one to hang on to. It is probably the best blast for the buck out there in the lower displacement range. The Bandit 1200 is probably the best in the larger displacement.
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-13-2001, 07:00 AM
Squidwannabe

Quote: