New computer question - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-26-2008, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht
New computer question

Ok, so I have a Dell Dimension 8300 Desktop that basically got fried thanks to a power surge. It's pretty much been written off as a loss, but I was curious about using it as a chassis and building a new PC. But this is something I have never done before. So keeping in mind that it's several years old, can I find new components that will fit and work properly? Or are motherboards pretty brand-specific as far as what they'll fit in? Can you get ones with PCI slots, even if the PC wasn't designed for that, etc? I know I'm sounding like an idiot, but as far as computers go, I'm kind of an "out of the box" type person.

"The only difference between death and taxes is that death doesn't get worse every time Congress meets."
-Will Rogers
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-26-2008, 01:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by snakesht View Post
Ok, so I have a Dell Dimension 8300 Desktop that basically got fried thanks to a power surge. It's pretty much been written off as a loss, but I was curious about using it as a chassis and building a new PC. But this is something I have never done before. So keeping in mind that it's several years old, can I find new components that will fit and work properly? Or are motherboards pretty brand-specific as far as what they'll fit in? Can you get ones with PCI slots, even if the PC wasn't designed for that, etc? I know I'm sounding like an idiot, but as far as computers go, I'm kind of an "out of the box" type person.

The Chassis dimensions will be what determines what motherboard you can use. If it is big enough to accommodate a new motherboard, PCI slots, PCIE cards, etc... without any issues... then you are golden.