Builder or Engineer?? Please look at this. - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-24-2005, 11:18 AM Thread Starter

Builder or Engineer?? Please look at this.

Okay, so we're building our house next year. We're on a slope (not huge, but enough to matter) and our soil is the worst possible scenario, clay.

I've been looking at alternatives to standard footings to try to make construction easier and less expensive.

Anyway, I came across this system that uses three poles, driven into the ground at angles, that then connect to the upright. No digging, no concrete.

Sounds simple and cheap, which worries me.

Please take a second to look at it and give me your thoughts...

CV Substructure Systems

In God, we trust; all others must provide data.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-25-2005, 12:06 PM
S370HSSV 0773H

Send a message via Yahoo to spicersh
I'm not a civil engineer, but IMO in most cases you get what you pay for. Building a home is not a time when you want to cheap out on things. If you want to save money you can do certain things yourself like painting, etc. Just my

SportbikeWorld Supermoderator

The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all of fiction: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomanical, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully. - Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-25-2005, 01:01 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally posted by spicersh
...Building a home is not a time when you want to cheap out on things...
Yeah, that's my line of thought too.

Do you think it's a sound construction method though, cost savings aside?

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-25-2005, 02:54 PM

My thoughts on it: