Do you think a RS50 is too small for me? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-2002, 04:23 PM Thread Starter

Do you think a RS50 is too small for me?

I'm going to be buying a 2000 Aprilia RS50 from my neighbor and it only has 1100 miles on it. He has put the 75 cc kit on it along with exhuast, sprocket, and a few other things. This will be my first bike and I have no experience, and it's in excellent condition.

He never drives it because he has two other cars (94 supra TT, and 98 gs400) even though this bike is not a 600cc+ it looks DAMN GOOD! And i think i'm getting a great deal on it

they cost $3,500 new, and i'm getting it for $2,000. plus it already has mods. It will be for street driving, even though since the mods it can go 80mph.

I don't think I can find a better bike, in better condition for the price. It's Black/Red

oh yea, I'm 19 .

here's a pic of the 2002 model, nothings changed just the colors.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-2002, 04:38 PM

That's a great deal, and those are FUN bikes- BUT- it's possibly the worst choice as a streetbike, especially in hilly SF. Yes, they will go that fast in 75-80cc form, but you need a pretty long stretch to do it.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-2002, 05:06 PM

I agree with Tristan. What are you planning to do with the bike?
It's not much of a street bike. Are you interested in learning to shift continuosly to make any forward progress? Who are planning on riding with? You will get tired of trying to keep up with your riding buddies, even if they are on any of the smaller sportbikes such as Ninja 250s. Highway rides? Forget it. You won't even be able to pass yourself.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-08-2002, 06:56 PM Thread Starter