Riding Paranoid - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-23-2002, 09:49 PM Thread Starter

Riding Paranoid

I was out riding today and I made a realization about my riding style: I basically ride with the assumption that any driver may, at any given time, do the stupidest and most dangerous possible thing to injure or kill me. I've been riding streetbikes for about 7-8 years and I've found that this mindset has really helped me avoid some nasty situations. The one thing that I do that may be considered unusual, though, is to ride through an intersection where, say, there's a car on my right waiting to cross. I keep a close eye on the driver with my hands over the brake and clutch in case the cager decides to pull out and T-bone me, but I also keep my legs tensed so that, if there is no chance for me to avoid being hit, I can jump onto the hood of the car and avoid having my leg crushed. Does anyone else do anything like this? Am I being overly cautious? Or foolish?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-24-2002, 08:09 AM

I am not that freaked out as you are.

Still back in 1948 an old rider in his late 40s gave me this one---" You are the only sane rider on the steet & all the others are crazy & out to kill you". So from having people drive through STOP lights & take me down, to others from the right suddenly turning left in front of me, etc, etc. I became a very DEFENSIVE rider & soon looked upon ALL drivers to not be trusted, even people walking down the road or to bicyclist. In other words when someone is coming t a STOP sign & about to come on the main road I am prepared for them to go right through it, the car signalling a right turn to turn left, etc.
Of interest I have almost developed an advance feeling about drivers & it has worked on so many occasions.
One simply does NOT trust others!!