Leaking Gas....please help - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-27-2008, 11:11 PM Thread Starter

Leaking Gas....please help

Im new to motorcycles and recently my bike began leaking gas after i had it running. I started it inside the garage just to make sure everything was working alright, and a few hours later i noticed gas all over the floor. It is leaking from a hose that seems to be some kind of overflow/runoff. I planned on getting the carbs and oil changed soon, but now i have a bike with no gas in it. The bike is a 1999 GS500 with 18k miles. Im sorry for the stupid questions, im new to bikes. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-28-2008, 04:16 AM

Hey, I am originally from Ohio, been here in Alaska for 16 years or so. First, I assume this is recent. Is the bike in cold storage, or semi-cold? It's possible that there could be some wierd fuel expansion shit going on. I'm no tech, but I'd wait till spring to fuck with it too much, or worry. Now, if the fuel was coming from the engine, and you could plainly see that, i'd worry and give the bike to the shop now to take their time on all winter (my shop discounts if I do that).

Just my

Welcome to riding!
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-28-2008, 09:21 AM Thread Starter

Thanks for the response. Is it possible that carbs are really dirty and somehow allowing gas to flow freely into the motor?

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-28-2008, 10:39 AM

Wow, a bike with carbs. Since they control air flow and gas mixture, i'd have to say "maybe?" . It certainly can't hurt to remove and clean, would only help, that is if you're mechanically inclined at all. I know carbs are supposed to be a basic, basic things for mechanics to do.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-28-2008, 10:53 AM
Lifetime Premium

Send a message via AIM to snakesht