Katana @ the track? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-22-2006, 05:12 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to PPPope
Katana @ the track?

I've been riding the street/highway for a year now. I'm still a complete newbie (5,000 miles), but I can't get enough of watching MotoGP, AMA, and reading about "Deals Gap" and your amazing track-day experience conversations on here. Leathers, NEW BIKE, and the full track-time life isn't in the picture for me yet, as much as I wish it would be, but would taking the Katana to the track for a "Try The Track" experience be ok? Would they even let my use my bike, it being a sport touring machine? Side comment, I'm sure the answer is yes, but I'll ask it anyway: can one even get their knee down on a Katana (I'm months from this of course)? Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

I've got to get to the TRACK!

Thanks for the help you track day junkies!

"The quality of a person's life is in direct proportion to their commitment to excellence, regardless of their chosen field of endeavor."
-Vince Lombardi
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-23-2006, 05:12 AM

Send a message via AIM to RCjohn
First of all, absolutely you can take it on the track.

Secondly, yes a knee could be put down while on a Katana. Remember it wasn't all that many years ago that the Katana was the Suzuki supersport machine raced in AMA. Granted things have changed significantly but back in the late 80s they were the race bikes although the suspension was a wee bit adjusted. lol

John

The sheep need love too but they lie.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-23-2006, 12:00 PM Thread Starter