Track day /school at North Florida Motorsport Park - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-28-2002, 02:06 PM Thread Starter

Track day /school at North Florida Motorsport Park

Finally going to get on the track! but the initial set up will cost me some $$$$. Leather pants, pit bull stand,new set of tires plus 200$ for school and track fees. school is required cause I have no track experience. I will put on my old tank and plastics in case I crash.. again!!where can I get the safety wire and water wetter for radiator? and do they make predrilled oil plugs. looks like I opened a can of worms.I am excited .. I am sure they have a orange novice vest with my name on it!! let me see if I can put up the linkhttp://northfloridamotorsportspark.com

Last edited by blackkaw; 10-28-2002 at 02:42 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-28-2002, 04:41 PM

Kewl! Most track day org's do NOT require any safety wiring. If this one does, LP has it, also any local industrial supply place. Harbor freight has it (and everything else!). The only bike prep usually needed is replacement of antifreeze with straight water and fresh tires. Water wetter is available pretty widely, but I wouldn't bother if you're going to put antifreeze back in it.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-29-2002, 04:58 AM

You could try

http://www.mariettamotorsports.com/

for most of it.

If you get the wire, get the pliers too.... and the little pack of 3 or 4 drill bits.

Check with the school to see what is actually required. As Tristan said, it probably is not as much as you think. Track days and schools don't require near as much as racing organizations.

Track days are meant to let people bring their street bike, and then go back to the street pretty easy when it is over. Tape the glass, remove the mirrors and maybe the kick/center stands... that kind of stuff.