knee-slider - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-07-2002, 10:39 PM Thread Starter

knee-slider

To knee sliders,

I'm just beginning to knee slide my bike. I've only had a couple "track day" experiences and in both instances, I reverted to knee hugging my tank. And, in lot of the turns, I really was leaning hard. But, I realize the professionals and sportriders utilize the knee-slider technique. I've heard this is a matter of preference and a style. I'm somewhat skeptical that this is the only function. It seems to me that the knee sliding technique allows the rider to apply maximum grip while going through a turn. Also, I've heard that the knee-sliding technique allows for the rider to measure how far the bike is leaning. Since I realize that the more the bike is at the "upmost" position: 0 lean, max. grip is utilized. And if a rider is able to go into a turn w/ less lean angle, the better his/her chance of not sliding out. But, I realize also, lean angle is very much dependent on the the type of turn. If the turn is tight and one's entrance speed is very fast, one has to lean much more to make the turn. And obviously, at this point, the knee-sliding technique would not be advisable and the focus would have to be to lean as much as one can (forcing the knee to hug the tank) to make the turn. MSF's beginner course have empasized and supports the knee-tank hugging approach, but this is probably because, at this stage, a beginner, by not hugging the tank w/ his knee would do more to upset the bike than help it along.

Please provide feedback and your experiences w/ this technique.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2002, 08:29 AM