Advice to get faster - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-06-2002, 03:34 AM Thread Starter

Advice to get faster

I have about 10 yrs street experience, but I'm a newbie to track riding. Took a CSS level 1 course and my first novice level track day is in about a month (see previous post).
My question is this ...... while practicing my skills on the track and trying to improve, the obvious goal is to get faster.
At the Superbike school, each corner as the day progressed and I got a little faster had me thinking "I'm going in too hot" as I approached. I wasn't, of course, but my brain was telling me I was. I'm not sure, but I think this is referred to as FEAR.
From your first experience on track and as you got better and faster, how did you deal with this?
This feeling is very specific to entering a corner, of course. Coming off the last corner on to the straight I don't feel any real hesitation to firewalling it to head down the straight (course, I'm not doing 180 mph, but let's not talk about that). But coming up on that nice right hander at Streets of Willow ...... the word commitment comes to mind.
Trust me, I'm not stupid enough to go out and try to rip it up the first time I get out on the track. I want to learn, practice and pay attention to those with experience. That's where you come in.
I'm not going to the track to mildly make my way around. With a couple minor exceptions, that's generally the way I keep it on the street. I want to physically learn how to get through a fast corner, and mentally approach it, I guess.
So, simply, how do you deal with fear?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-06-2002, 04:34 AM

Hey RedDuck23,
Hey you should try and read the book. "A Twist of the Wrist 2"
I talkes about exactly what your talking about. The book calls it survival reactions, and how to deal with them. Its a great book!!