Rennsports OK for the track ? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-23-2002, 09:34 PM Thread Starter

Question Rennsports OK for the track ?

I have a 2000 XX and am currently runing 207's on it. I ran @ willow with them and boogered em up pretty good. Looking @ rennsports to replace em . Any comments or suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-23-2002, 09:59 PM

The Rennsports are good tires. The "Race" tire is really good but is not going to hold up as long as the "Supersport" version in a lot of street riding, especially if you get the RS1 (supersoft blue label) compound. The Race version is about $90 higher.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-25-2002, 05:22 AM

Thumbs up Positive vote for Renns!

I ran them (RS2 - green) on my 1k for a track day last fall at Putnam Park. Awesome tires. I'm no expert or anything, but had no hint of traction loss all day. I could even move around a little at the apex, knee down and they never wiggled or anything. Tried to make the rear spin on an exit and it just wheelied instead while I was leaned over. I still have another track day left on them too. Willow is extremely hard on tires (most say it's THE most abrasive track). My brother rides there frequently, and on his 1K he gets 1 track day on a set before they're toast, he uses 208's. As I get more comfy on the track though, may try the RS1 (blue) front. My green front looks nearly new after 1 track day. Guess that means I'm not pushing hard enough?

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-25-2002, 07:42 AM

Re: Positive vote for Renns!

Quote:
Originally posted by Scootter
As I get more comfy on the track though, may try the RS1 (blue) front. My green front looks nearly new after 1 track day. Guess that means I'm not pushing hard enough?