sv650 non-faired at highspeeds... - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-31-2005, 01:43 PM Thread Starter

sv650 non-faired at highspeeds...

I've narrowed it to the sv650 or the fz6...how is the sv on the thruway without a faring? is it really windy? and..are there clip-ons available for the fz6?
but generaly...what have those of you who've ridden both found to be the pros and cons.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-01-2006, 01:03 PM

Dunno about the SV but my wife's CB-1 is pretty breezy at speed.

Lots of aftermarket flyscreens available, though. I put one on her bike after riding it 130 cold freeway miles in October.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-07-2006, 08:33 PM

I've been riding a naked sv for the past 4 years. Extended rides (2+ hrs on interstate) are tiring due to the wind blast.
The naked sv is a great bike for commuting to work, back roads and curves, but when I finally take that long trip it will be on a stronger bike with more wind protection.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-27-2006, 08:32 PM
Six

I've run my SV stock naked, fully faired with clip ons, and it's currently naked with clip ons. Here's my take on wind blast:

naked with bars is brutal: straight up and down posture exposes the chest to the wind and makes long drones an exercise in pulling yourself forward against the drag.

fully faired: much easier to knife through the wind, shoulders, chest and arms ride in a nice little quiet pocket of air; big time helmet buffeting and deafening wind noise as the wind seemed to hit me right at the neck. Reeaallly nice in cold weather and rain to hide behind the plastic...