Concours Windscreens?? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-11-2002, 06:23 PM Thread Starter

Post Concours Windscreens??

Any Connie owners have an aftermarket windscreen? if so, which one and how do you like it.. I'm currently looking at the Clearview and Rifle. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-11-2002, 07:35 PM

Talking Damn...you ARE lost!

Riding a Concours and hanging 'round SBW?

Anywho...I have no experience with a Clearview, but have had a Rifle on my bike since '87. I'm 5'10" tall, got the original height screen (think that would be the middle height Rifle these days), and it was a big improvement over the stock shield. The OEM unit was noisy, and had to go early on. I look over the Rifle, as my eyes are around 2 to 3 inches higher than the screen. Nuttin' big, but I got the tinted version in an effort to cut down on reflections bouncing around the dash area from lights behind me at night. In case you don't know, the biggie 'bout the Rifle is the vent which funnels air up the inside of the screen. It meets outside air at the top of the screen and keeps it from dumping over the top a bit. Must work, since it's a very quiet shield. Some folks say they have trouble with rain coming in the vent, but I've never had that problem.

If you get a Rifle, a couple of caveats:
1. Find yourself some very small O-rings to fit between the screw head and shield body. If you don't, the shields tend to develop spiderweb cracks at the screw head.
2. I installed some of the OEM Kawasaki black edging along the sides and across the top of the Rifle, as the top of the shield vibrated a bit. The edging helped dampen/eliminate it.
You can check my pix to get an idea of the screen height.
HTH
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-12-2002, 02:50 AM Thread Starter