Sportbike vs. Sport Tourer - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-10-2002, 11:03 AM Thread Starter

Send a message via Yahoo to jonjoeputman
Sportbike vs. Sport Tourer

Hi, I'm just getting into sportbikes or sport tourers after riding cruisers all my life. I really like the feel and nimble handling of the sportbikes but you compromise a lot in comfort, so I was wondering if any of the bikes I'm considering would be more comfortable without going to a sport tourer or are any of them comfortable like in daily commutes or just riding around. I'm looking at the Kawasaki ZX-6R, ZX-7R, Yamaha YZF-R6, and Suzuki Katana. Looks like the sport tourers would be really comfy but do they handle very well in the twisties or really haul when you're in the mood for speed? Any opinions would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-10-2002, 12:58 PM

Hey! I had a 2001 Katana 600 before I purchased my TL and let me tell you....the ergonomics are a world of difference! My Kat...although not as fast and light as a "true" sportbike was as fun as could be in the twisties! Both the 600 and 750 have the old GSXR engines in them so they aren't really all that slow! My wife thinks the Kat was alot more comfortable! Both bikes are very affordable as well! The only thing I can see is that you may get a little grief on SBW...I did, but I am sure that it was only because everyone loved me so much! Plus...I totally out grew my Katana in about 6 months! It was a dependable old steed though! Perfect entry or reentry level bikes! Good luck and happy riding! Lot of mods available!
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-10-2002, 04:49 PM

Out of the ones you mentioned, the 6R would be the best choice. It has much more humane ergonomics than the 7R, and is better than the R6 but you'd have to sit on 'em to check out the difference. I'm sure Katana's are nice, but just a bit frumpy lookin'!