How Close are our Street Machines - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-22-2003, 07:43 AM Thread Starter

Question How Close are our Street Machines

Hi all;

I am a newbie here and to sport riding, but I LOVE watching the Road racing on SpeedTV (And just signed up for my first track day School).

I have a question though (Sorry if it is a silly one, I just don't know any better)...

How close is my 600cc stock showroom F4i to the FIM Supersport (Not superbike) machines I see racing on TV?

Close??? Worlds Different???

Anyone??? Anyone???

Thanks
Craig
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-22-2003, 08:57 AM

Well not to make you feel bad.

I don't know if your talking about the AMA 600 races or what. But Eric Bostrom said that the bikes we ride are basically shit boxes compared to the stuff people race, and the only simularities are the name on the side of them.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-24-2003, 10:16 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to FZR400Tony
the world supersport-spec 600's are far superior to their ama counter-parts as well. they aren't quite a superbike 600, but they definitely ain't stock either.

Tony

Coward stays behind freedom.
A braveman stands in front of freedom and defends it for others.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-25-2003, 02:25 AM

all true but a lot of the components are the same (engine wise anyhow) exept the race prepped bikes are have the hell tweaked out of them.

i think last years AMA 600's had 125hp, and that is about what the new 636 has. except of caurse the AMA 600 was rear wheel and the 636 is at the crank.

i maybe wrong but i think that this is all true?
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2003, 03:01 AM