Got a new XX the other day. - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-25-2002, 11:38 PM Thread Starter

Got a new XX the other day.

Hi Folks!

I'm brand new to this board. I traded my VTX in on an 1100XX! Boy was that the right decision! I just love this thing! The VTX was a great bike, but I've been in love with sport bikes for 30 years. Back then we used to call them "cafe racers." Anyway now I've given away my age. Who cares! I still dig going fast. At any rate I am sorta getting used to the XX. It shifts way different than the VTX, I can't seem to shift it as smooth as I like. Any suggestions? I seem to sorta jerk it in between the gears. Now I've been riding for over 30 years and I'll be honest this thing is taking a little getting used to.

Boy this bike is torquey! I thought the VTX was the torque king but this bike pulls out of a 25 mph corner in 3rd gear without complaining at all.

I know this thing isn't as fast as the Haya's and the Ninja's but I still dig it. Us older types need a bike that's a little calmer! LOL! It's so cool to hear the gear whine and the wind. The VTX was noisy (installed the Vance & Hines Bigshots). I couldn't stand the Log Truck Stack that Honda had hung on the side of that scooter. So I changed it. I even installed a DynoJet PCIII. The bike didn't run as good as I thought it should have. It had a real ratty sound at part throttle (cruise settings) Even with the baffles in it was loud. I'll tell ya one thing thou it sure would Shred Harley's with no trouble. Enough on that .

Hope I can contribute something to this board. Glad I found it.

Silverbird.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-28-2002, 12:00 PM
S370HSSV 0773H

Send a message via Yahoo to spicersh