New Rider YZF R6 - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-30-2007, 03:26 PM Thread Starter

New Rider YZF R6

Hi I'm new to riding bikes, well I rode some dirtbikes and quads when I was younger.

I found a 99 YZF R6, 14K Miles, seems to be in good condition mech and body wise, little crack tho in the bottom fairing. for $3000

Is this a good deal, would I be able to learn on this bike, is it forgiving?

I've been looking into zx6rs and cbrs as well, I can find a cbr f3 for $2900 w/ 2k miles on it. The zx6rs I am looking at however around about $4000+
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 01:07 PM

I have been shopping around for a beater bike and I feel, imo, that price is a bit high. I found some 2002+ bikes that had decent mileage and good condition for like maybe 1k more, max.

The R6 is fine for beginers imo. As long as you respect the bike and take it slow and learn, its no big deal. Just like crashing at 60mph on a dirtbike like my bro did is just like crashing 60 mph on a super sport.

alot of people will tell u the R6 is too much bike though. Eh, I wouldnt say it is too much, just imo as it is my first sportbike.

I drove dirtbikes and things, just make sure to keep speeds below what you would die at (you get the gut feeling when you reach a certain speed that, if u crash, u die) and if u crash big deal, u fix the bike.

Last edited by CypreSs187; 01-09-2008 at 01:09 PM.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 01:25 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by CypreSs187
Just like crashing at 60mph on a dirtbike like my bro did is just like crashing 60 mph on a super sport.

I drove dirtbikes and things, just make sure to keep speeds below what you would die at (you get the gut feeling when you reach a certain speed that, if u crash, u die) and if u crash big deal, u fix the bike.
Crashing on the dirt at any speed is nothing at all like crashing on the street.