First bike advice? - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-12-2004, 01:42 PM Thread Starter

First bike advice?

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting here & I am looking for some first bike advice. I will be purchasing a used bike (98-02 Suzuki preferably, unless something else is recommended). I have never ridden a bike before. I will be using it primarily for drag racing (get your laughs out now!). I know how to respect powerful machines, but I know bikes are a totally different ball game than my 12 second truck that I currently race.
I am 6'1" 240 lbs as a bodybuilder. I totally want to start out with something powerful, yet reasonable enough to learn on. Being larger than average, I feel too big for a 600, although I have read previous posts stating that 600 is way too much power to start on. My goal is to work my way to a 'Busa. The bike racers at the track have suggested i start with a 750cc being as big as I am. I have asked many of them and they all say 750 -900. And yes, i told them I have never so much as ridden a bike in the past. 750 sounds scary... they tell me I will feel comfortable fairly fast with a 600 and wish i went bigger (I never saw much of a difference in the 1/4 mile between 600 and 750).What does everyone think provided I do not plan to ride on public roads? I plan on learning on a trail/parking lots. TIA for any thoughts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-12-2004, 02:00 PM

No dis intended, but the Guys at the track need to rethink what they are tellin ya....a 750 is TOO powerful for a first bike, Yes, even at your size...

My Son is a tad bigger at 6'6", and 270 lbs...and Nothing bigger than a SV 650 twin, which puts out Less HP, than a 600cc sportbike..is what I'd recomend for him...

Old, Slow, but ...Smooth
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-12-2004, 05:33 PM Thread Starter