Steering Dampner - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-05-2002, 05:25 PM Thread Starter

Steering Dampner

I've read in a magazine where they preferred the Gixxer 750 without the steering dampner. I have no experience without the steering dampner & need some opinions from seasoned veterans with this subject. I don't find any dissatifaction with my steering dampner, but then again I'm only a Rookie...with 6 months experience. What do I know!!!!!!

Life is short!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-05-2002, 09:53 PM
that one guy

i havent heard that.. but then again i havent been paying attn lately.

i can tell a big difference w/it on & off on my 97 600.. i like it on.. unless im putting around town.. the steering is heavy w/it on.. but once u light the back tire up it really helps.

go ahead & take it off.. ride cautiously at 1st.. feel it out. spend some time w/it off then put it back on.. that should tell u your preference.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-06-2002, 09:03 AM

from what I gather, in reading alot of articals, and comments from 750 riders, and racers alike..all of them regard a damper, as must..even at lower speeds. And while I didn't have one on my 97 600, there were times when I wished I did. The first rule of thumb is to have everything in line, i.e. wheels, forks..ect.. also having your suspension properly set up is a must for any spirited riding/racing...As for the brands of dampers, lots of the gixxer bretheren, like the olins, some have the scott's, which is the one I was planning on getting..and will get, when I get my new bike..

Oh..I should mention, that the damper needs to be adjusted and in good working order to function properly..

hope this helps...

Old, Slow, but ...Smooth

Last edited by Hammer 4; 01-06-2002 at 09:06 AM.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-06-2002, 09:21 AM
PJ1