Vibrations RF - Sportbike Forum: Sportbike Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-28-2001, 08:48 PM Thread Starter

Vibrations RF

I have a 95 RF600 and I changed the oil this weekend, while I had the bike apart I noticed the air filter needed to be changed so I ordered a K&N.

Since I'm relatively new to bikes, I also removed the part of the air box that connects to the carberator. Not sure what it's called, anyway, I tightened that back on securly. And I've instaleld the K&N.

But now when I'm crusing it seems to have a slight vibration in it that I don't remember it having before. Could removing the airbox, do anything like that? Not sure what to do next or how to eliminate the vibrations.

BTW, The Bike is Jetted and has an Exhaust. My RF600

Any Ideas?

Thanks,
Dave Raney
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-02-2001, 07:14 PM

Question

Dave,I'm not a rocket scientist,but,if it were my bike I would take it all back apart and re-assemble it all again carefully making sure nothing is rubbing/out of alignment,or has loosened,etc. Try to "retrace" your steps,you know??!!?
Of course at certain throttle settings,(especially W.O.T.),you will get more intake noise since the K&N flows more air. This may be part of your noise???

Good luck,let us know what you find!!

Jim

You don't stop riding because you get old;You get old because you stop riding!!
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-22-2001, 02:51 PM Thread Starter

Jim,
Well I while I was changing my spark plugs I did check everything that I had removed the first time and tightened up the seals from the intake to the carbs. I'm not sure if it was that or the spark plugs (the were pretty black) but it seems to be running a lot better.